( Mon Eve 5-31-2010)

Right at the outset classical Buddhism developed some sophisticated lists of linked concepts. They are the Four Noble Truths, the Eight-Fold Path, and the Twelve Steps of the Dependent Origination.

Four NobleTruths

1. Suffering Exists
2. The Cause of Suffering is Ignorance and Desire
3. Nirvana is the end of suffering
4. The Eight-Fold Path leads to Nirvana

The Eight-Fold Path that leads to the psycholical state of Nirvana is:

1. Right Knowledge 2. Right Aspiration 3. Right Speech 4. Right Conduct 5. Right Livelihood 6. Right Endeavor 7. Right Mindfulness 8. Right Meditation

Elaborating on Truth #2 is the chain of Dependent Origination

1. Ignorance 2. Action 3. Consciousness 4. Name and Form 5. Senses 6. Contact 7. Sensation 8. Craving 9. Attachment 10. Becoming 11. Birth 12. Old age, Sickness, and Death